Interscholastic Basketball Championship ends on high note

PHILIPSBURG, St. Maarten – The Interscholastic Basketball Championship (IBC) officially came to an end on Wednesday, March 2, with an award ceremony and all-star game for parents and fans, at L.B. Scott Sports Auditorium.

The award ceremony, whose Master of Ceremony (MC) was Walichi Basketball Association Vice-President Dennisio Duzong, started with the national anthem sung Michelle Nicholas, winner of the 1st International Interscholastic Idol Primary School Competition in St. Maarten.

Following the anthem, each school team’s top academic player was rewarded with a ribbon to continue to emphasize the importance of education alongside sports. The sub champs, St. Joseph Primary school and champions Ruby Labega Primary school were then presented with medals and a trophy for their huge winning effort. The twenty 2016 IBC All-Stars were presented to the crowd and given a personalized award certificate for their all-star selection.

The game then started and Omarion Arrindell (MLK) got Pool B all-stars on the board first with the first 4 points of the game and Pool B never looked back. They led 11-4 after the first quarter and 16-8 at the half. Pool B All Stars were coached by Robert Pantophlet (Ruby Labega) and David Forsythe (Martin Luther King Jr-MLK).

During the halftime, all coaches and key persons of the 10 teams were given a certificate of appreciation for their hard work with the youth of St. Maarten.

Pool A All-stars, coached by Jamal Newton (Methodist Agogic Center-MAC) and Leary Hall (St. Dominic Primary-SDP) fought back in the third quarter and cut the deficit to 4 points, 14-18 to end the third. In the 4th quarter Pool B All-stars kept their composure and made key baskets to keep Pool A all-stars at bay and ultimately win the game 26-22. Pool B all-stars were led by Omarion Arrindell (MLK) with 9 points and Pool A All-stars were led by Chamiqueko Landefort with 6 points and Kayvaughn Schmidt with 5 points.

Pool B All Stars alongside Coach Robert Pantophlet, Winners of The All Star Game-001

Source: 721 news Interscholastic Basketball Championship ends on high note