SHTA’s Executive Director selected as the 2018-19 Association Executive of the Year | SOUALIGA NEWSDAY

SINT MAARTEN (PHILIPSBURG) – At this year’s Caribbean Hotel and Tourism Association conference CHIEF (Caribbean Hospitality Industry Exchange Forum) SHTA’s own Executive Director, Wyb Meijer, was selected as the 2018-19 Association Executive of the Year. 

This very prestigious award recognizes excellence in Caribbean Association Management; the winner distinguishes themselves from other executives by demonstrating superior achievement in association operations, destination marketing and community affairs, and involvement with CHTA.

Wyb has been the Executive Director of the SHTA since October of 2016.  From day one, he took off running, bringing the association to even greater heights by growing the membership base, generating new innovative networking events like SMILE. 

Wyb also spearheaded the very popular and successful St. Maarten Calendar of Events among many other projects.  His leadership of the SHTA team, tenacity and connections have aided in generating grants for vital projects like the ongoing acquisition of a badly needed Beach Cleaning Machine for the island.  He has forged key partnerships and relationships with other NGO’s which was made the organization stronger.

The Board and the entire membership of SHTA are very proud of our Director, Wyb and all of his accomplishments on behalf of the association; especially since the last time St. Maarten was honored with this award was in 1999 – when Marc van de Bilt was selected.

Source: Souliga Newsday’s-executive-director-selected-as-the-2018-19-association-executive-of-the-year.html