Insurance Association elects Board – Dwayne Elgin voted new President.

smia02032016PHILIPSBURG:—The Sint Maarten Insurance Association (SMIA) installed a new Board following their recent annual elections. The new Board will be led by President elect, Dwayne Elgin (CEO of NAGICO Insurances). Mr. Elgin takes over the reins from outgoing President, Mr. Eric Ellis who served in that capacity from the inception of the Association in 2013 and is also a founding member.
The newly elected board comprises of Vice President- Olivier van de Gevel (Branch Manager of Guardian); Treasurer -Wayne Johnson (Branch Manager of ICWI); Secretary- Cynthia Rotsburg(Branch Manager Caribbean Alliance). Mr. Ellis will now serve as an Advisor to the new elected Board. The SMIA has as its charter, the responsibility for promoting the general interest of the insurance business on St. Maarten as well as to advance and uphold the good reputation and conduct of the insurance business on the island.
The incoming president; Elgin has more than fifteen years experience under his belt and is a Chartered Property Casualty Underwriter(CPCU). In an invited comment, Elgin stated that he intends to continue the good work done by the previous board and engage all stakeholders to increase awareness and improve the image and visibility of the association on St. Maarten. He also thanked the association members for their confidence in his ability to lead the organization and was in high praise for the work done and accomplishments of the outgoing board.
Some of the accomplishments of the outgoing board includes, the introduction of the St. Maarten Accident Administration Service, establishment of equitable Medical Tariffs with the St. Maarten Medical Association(SMA) and Windward Islands Medical Association(WIMA) amongst other successful projects.
The new team has already hit the ground running with planned projects; some already in execution phase for 2016 and they have also expressed a positive outlook for the insurance industry on St. Maarten.

Source: St. Martin News Network Insurance Association elects Board – Dwayne Elgin voted new President.