Samuel and Richardson return to parliament


Samuel and Richardson - MPRodolphe Samuel and Hyacinth Richardson (third and second from right) wait to be sworn in. Photo Today / Milton Pieters


St. Maarten – Rodolphe Samuel and Hyacinth Richardson took the empty seats of National Alliance faction leader William Marlin and Silveria Jacobs yesterday afternoon in parliament, after a small committee of three, consisting of MPs Leona Marlin-Romeo, Dr. Lloyd Richardson and George Pantophlet had found their credentials in order

William Marlin left parliament to become the next prime minister and Silveria Jacobs is now Minister of Education, Culture, Youth and Sports.

During last year’s elections, Samuel missed a direct seat in parliament by a beep; Christophe Emmanuel stayed two votes ahead of him (246 to 244) to grab the National Alliance’s fourth seat in August. Hyacinth Richardson was the sixth highest vote getter with 208 votes which was, in turn, two votes ahead of former Minister of Tourism, Economic Affairs, Transport and Telecommunication Romeo Pantophlet.

Source: Today SXM Samuel and Richardson return to parliament