29 police force employees honoured for years of service

mw ad

NAPB Treasurer Janice Philips speaking to workers at Friday’s ceremony.

PHILIPSBURG–The Nationale Algemene Politie Bond (NAPB), on Sunday, said it was grateful to its membership whom have dedicated many years of their lives and made sacrifices to serve the people of the country as workers of the St. Maarten Police Force.

  “These workers have done a tremendous job and they should be recognised because in many cases they left their families home to serve this country.  We thank them for their service,” NAPB Treasurer Janine “Janice” Philips told The Daily Herald.  She said that the union is particularly grateful to those who served the force for more than 40 years. 


  A total of 29 long-serving workers who marked, 25, 30, 35 and 40 plus years in service to the force were recognised during a ceremony held in the Conference Room on the Upper Floor of the St. Maarten Police Force building in Philipsburg on Friday.

  The ceremony was held in the presence of recently appointed Minister of Justice Cornelius de Weever, Police Chief Carl John, the police management team and other colleagues.

  During the ceremony those honoured were presented with decrees, certificates and plaques for the many years of service they have served in the police force (Government) and by extension the community of St. Maarten.

  Philips, who spoke at the ceremony, told this newspaper that she was happy to see that the workers were recognised for their years of service.

  Philips stressed that the union has opened the year 2018 with a new mind set and mentality of how it will be addressing issues affecting its members. 

 Marking 40 and more years of service were Quintin Rogers, Norwin Villarreal and Georges York; honoured for 35 years were Benjamin Gout, D. Baptist, M. Petronillia and Gubert Cecilia. Marking 30 years in service were Janine Muller-Rijna, Marian Huntington-Humphreys and Keturah Brown; and the workers recognised for 25 years of service were Patricia St. Rose-Richardson, Wallace Leonard, Gregory Augusta, Paul Brown, Hensley Roumou, Claudius Arrindell, Rogerrel Mauricia, Felix Richards, Bernard Roumou, Jeanine Peterson, Janine Philips, Charlene Mardenborough, Leslie Richardson, Liandro Rombley, Viziola Angel, Ethelwoldus Josepha, Dino Johnson, Dientje John-Muller and Steven Carti.

Source: The Daily Herald https://www.thedailyherald.sx/islands/72960-29-police-force-employees-honoured-for-years-of-service