Ashille Brooks is new President of the Junior Territorial Council

The newly-elected Junior Territorial Council poses on the steps of Hotel de la Collectivité with First Vice-President Valérie Damaseau and other elected members of the adult Territorial Council.


MARIGOT–Ashille Brooks (21) was elected new President of the Collectivité’s Junior Territorial Council at an installation ceremony held in Hotel de la Collectivité’s deliberating hall on Saturday.

  The 23-member Council is renewed every two years. Brooks was one of three candidates vying for the Presidency along with Jemima Belme and Pierre-Lou Richeux. The Council voted in favour of Brooks, who collected 18 votes.

  Jerry Hodge is First Vice-President in charge of Sport, Health and Culture Commission; Second Vice-President Gabriella Losi has the Communication Commission; Third Vice-President Manuel Felix the Inter-Government Youth Cooperation Commission, and Fourth Vice-President Audeline Elian takes on the Solidarity Commission.

  Before the vote the candidates for President each outlined their objectives, as did the four Vice-Presidents after the voting.

  Outgoing President Chelsea Jhigaï gave an overview of the Council’s achievements during her term of office. She remains as a Council member.

  The ceremony was attended by First Vice-President of the Collectivité Valérie Damaseau, other members of the adult Territorial Council and the President of the Youth Parliament of St. Maarten. Proud parents were also present to support their children.

  Council members are Alexandre Rashida, Jemima Belme, Angelo Buret, Georgina Fantilus, Fornessa-Catt Fortune, Chelsea Jhigai, Nathalie Juste, Yoean Lake, Dina Laurore, Theo Lebon, Stevenson Miller, Antoine Novembre, Branly Oge, Pierre-Lou Richeux, Christopher Rodriguez, Cloe Saladin, Junia Selicout, and Hugues Taylor.

Source: The Daily Herald