Be The Change awards educational scholarships | THE DAILY HERALD

Be The Change Foundation’s Tyrone Yates (left) and Kaishah Peters with Erika Cannegieter Dream Big Scholarship Award 2019 recipients Zaquel Phipps, Amelia Thom and Kimberlee Walters.

PHILIPSBURG–Be The Change Foundation awarded Erika Cannegieter Dream Big Scholarships for 2019 to Zaquel Phipps, Amelia Thom, and Kimberlee Walters.

Be The Change awarded these three students the amount of US $1,667 each to aid them in furthering their educational goals.

Phipps will be attending HAN University of Applied Sciences in the Netherlands, Thom will be attending St. Maarten Academy’s Caribbean Advanced Proficiency Examination (CAPE) programme, and Walters will be attending Tallahassee Community College in Florida, United States.

“These young St. Maarteners have exhibited outstanding academic excellence, determination and drive in their missions to educational success. We wish them all the best in their future endeavours and hope that the small grants presented to them will help push them just a step closer to their goals and dreams,” Be The Change said.

The foundation thanked its donors from around the world and made special mention of Fred Grigsby Jr. for his annual contribution to this scholarship fund.

Erika Cannegieter Dream Big Scholarships are awarded each year on or around the occasion of the late Erika Cannegieter’s birthday. “In this way we honour her wish to help further the education of worthy St. Maarten students,” the organisation said.

Source: The Daily Herald