Be The Change Foundation awards seven grants for 2018 school year | THE DAILY HERALD

Front row (from left): Dream Big Scholarship Awards recipients Tyriss Moore, Suini Pantophlet and Mirian Pierre. Back row: Be The Change Foundation board member Cassandra Richardson and president Melanie Choisy.

PHILIPSBURG–Seven promising young students were collectively awarded almost US $9,000 thanks to generous donations to the Erika Cannegieter Dream Big Scholarship Fund for 2018. Be The Change Foundation’s scholarship programme allows students to submit applications for small grants to go towards their tuition, books, and materials for their mostly tertiary academic studies.

Applicants must present their transcripts and a strong professional or teacher recommendation, and demonstrate how they give back to the St. Maarten community.

Calls for applications open in May every year urging aspiring students to apply for help with their tuition, books, school materials or whatever they may need assistance with. The chosen recipients are then announced on the birthday of the late Erika Cannegieter, July 27.

This year’s grant recipients for the enrolment fee of the university/college of their choice are Tyriss Moore (University of St. Martin), Tjashana Honore (Leeds Beckett University), Muraiye Pierre (Tallahassee Community College), Jeannine Andrew (Northern Caribbean University), Mirian Pierre (Mount Saint Vincent University), Tamieka Richardson (The Hague University) and Suini Pantophlet.

Be The Change has dispersed close to $20,000 in grants and scholarships to St. Maarten youth since its establishment in 2015. The foundation thanks all of its donors, both local and foreign, over the years for making the dreams of young St. Maarten scholars a reality.

Source: The Daily Herald