Deadline approaching for Governor’s Youth Awards | THE DAILY HERALD

From left: 2020 winner Riya Baharani Khemchandani, Governor Eugene Holiday and 2020 winners Sarah Bharwani and Ray-Angel Clarence Antrobus Boasman. Not in the picture is Nigel Alexander Adriana. (File photo)

PHILIPSBURG–The deadline is fast approaching for nominations for the second annual Governor’s Youth Awards for Excellence Programme.

  The programme is open to persons ages 13-19. The selected fields are Academics, Arts, Sports, Community Service and Environmental Protection. Selected nominees, their parents and their nominators will be invited to attend the Awards Ceremony. Winners will receive their Youth Award for Excellence at the Awards Ceremony on June 24.

  The Governor’s Youth Award for Excellence will be awarded to youths who have attained a level of excellence in the selected fields greater than that achieved by others, or whose performance has been so exceptional that these achievements have identified them as being clearly outstanding from others.

  Persons and organisations are reminded that they have less than two weeks left to submit nominations electronically via the nomination form, no later than 11:59pm April 30. Nominations must contain detailed examples and supporting documentation of the achievements and activities of the nominated youth. They should also contain evidence of compliance with eligibility and general and specific criteria established in the award guidelines.

  Winners are selected based on a recommendation by the evaluation committee. The evaluation committee comprises Oldine Bryson-Pantophlet (Chairperson), Cassandra Janssen (Secretary), Dr. Rolinda Carter, Maikel Cornet, Clara Reyes, Rueben Thompson and Fabiana Vanterpool-Arnell.

  The 2020 winners were Sarah Bharwani, recipient in the category Environmental Protection; Nigel Alexander Adriana, co-recipient in the category Academics; Riya Baharani Khemchandani, co-recipient in the category Academics; and Ray-Angel Clarence Antrobus Boasman, recipient in the category Arts.

  Nomination forms and criteria can be found on the website of the Cabinet of the Governor of St. Maarten: or on Facebook

Source: The Daily Herald