Delta and Seaborne Airlines expand customers’ options

AIRPORT– Delta Air Lines (DA) and Seaborne Airlines, an airline based in San Juan, Puerto Rico, have announced a code-share agreement that will provide customers of both airlines with increased travel options to and from the United States and the Caribbean. The agreement has been filed for U.S. Department of Transportation (DOT) approval.

  The agreement complements Delta’s service to the Caribbean, extending Delta flight numbers and fares to 10 Seaborne markets with up to 40 daily round-trip flights. The code-share flights will connect to/from San Juan (SJU).

  Delta serves San Juan with four daily flights from Atlanta, Georgia, and five daily flights from New York-JFK during the peak season, with seasonal Detroit, Michigan, and Minneapolis/St. Paul, Minnesota, to San Juan routes. With this agreement, customers flying to and from the Caribbean will be able to access Delta’s main hubs in the US, connecting to the rest of the world through its global network.

   “The Delta-Seaborne partnership was launched in March 2014, but this code-share agreement marks an important step forward in our relationship,” said Delta Vice-President – Latin America and the Caribbean Nicolas Ferri. “This agreement enhances our service offerings to US customers travelling to the Caribbean with unparalleled options for leisure destinations. We look forward to continuing to grow our partnership and providing our customers with even more connectivity in the future.”

   “We truly see a new Puerto Rico emerging and this type of deal is evidence of that. Different companies and investors are discovering the island as a business destination and I am sure that the new air routes and enhanced air access will allow more of those possibilities,” said Alberto Bacó, Secretary of the Department of Economic Development and Commerce for the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico.

  There will be Delta-coded Seaborne Airlines-operated routes to five new destinations in the Caribbean: Beef Island, British Virgin Islands (EIS); Dominica (DOM); Nevis (NEV); Anguilla (AXA); La Romana and Dominican Republic (LRM).

  In addition, Delta will offer enhanced coverage to five points it already serves: St. Kitts and Nevis (SKB); Antigua (ANU); St. Croix, United States Virgin Islands (STX); St. Maarten (SXM); and St. Thomas (STT).

Source: Daily Herald
Delta and Seaborne Airlines expand customers’ options