Interim gov’t. to be sworn in Tues. Jacobs- cabinet to start with 5 ministers | THE DAILY HERALD

Prime Minister designate Silveria Jacobs. 


PHILIPSBURG–The interim government is expected to be sworn in by Governor Eugene Holiday on Tuesday, November 19.

  The Silveria Jacobs-cabinet will start with five ministers. Jacobs, a National Alliance (NA) Member of Parliament and formateur, will hold the post of Prime Minister and will also handle the responsibilities of Minister Plenipotentiary in the interim; NA MP Ardwell Irion will assume the position of Minister of Finance and will also act in the capacity as Minister of Education, Culture, Youth and Sports (ECYS); NA MP Egbert Jurendy Doran will take up the post of Minister of Justice and also act in the capacity as Minister of Health, Labour and Social Affairs VSA; Air Traffic Controller Rene Violenes, who ran as the #8 candidate on the NA slate at the last election, will take up the responsibility of Minister of Tourism, Economic Affairs, Transport and Telecommunications (TEATT) and sitting minister Christopher Wever will retain his post as Minister of Housing, Spatial planning, the Environment and Infrastructure VROMI.

  This newspaper understands that the decision was made to start with five ministers as the screening process has gone beyond the six-week period and was dragging on. It is understood that once the screening process for the remaining candidates has been finalised the remaining positions will be filled.   

  The three openings that will be created in Parliament once MPs Jacobs, Irion and Doran, take up their ministerial posts, will be filled by candidates who are next in line on the party’s list at the 2018 elections. Former MP and former Chairperson of Parliament Rodolphe Samuel, who is the sixth highest vote getter on the party’s slate at the last election; Anna Richardson, the seventh highest vote getter on the slate and Ludmila Duncan, the eight highest vote getter, are expected to take up positions as MPs.

Source: The Daily Herald