Junior Optimists from Anguilla in New Mexico for Convention

Anguilla Junior Optimists with chaperones at the Convention.


ANGUILLA–Three Junior Optimists recently travelled to Albuquerque, New Mexico for the Junior Optimist International Convention. They were Tiandra Carty a member of the Progressive Youth Octagon Club, Abigail Proctor Secretary of the Kids for the Future Junior Optimist Club, and Darian Carty President of the Superstars Junior Optimist Club. They were chaperoned by President Amethyst Davis, Immediate Past President Avon Carty and Junior Optimist International Committee (JOI) Chairperson Emma Ferguson of the Optimist Club of Anguilla.

  In a tightly contested election held on the final day of the convention, Tiandra was elected as one of four directors from a slate of seven candidates to serve on the Junior Optimist International Board for the year 2017–2018. Tiandra is one of only three JOI members from the Caribbean District to serve on the International Board, following in the footsteps of Past Director Cordane Richardson from Anguilla and Past President Javani Waugh from Jamaica. The 2017–2018 board was sworn in at the President’s Banquet, held on the last evening of convention.

  At the banquet, awards were also given to outstanding Junior Optimists from across the organisation and 10 members from Anguilla’s Junior Optimist Clubs received Personal Growth and Involvement (PGI) medallions. Darian Carty, Naiva Hodge, Yohalis Mercedes, Steven Connor, Jarnesha Hughes and Orianna Poison from the Superstars JOI Club; Abigail Proctor and Meekia Harrigan from the Kids For The Future JOI Club and Maldron Carty and Tyiesha Emmanuel from the Progressive Youth Octagon Club were awarded bronze medallions, and Denecia Connor and Tiandra Carty also from Progressive Youth Octagon Club’ were awarded silver medallions. 


Source: The Daily Herald https://www.thedailyherald.sx/islands/67662-junior-optimists-from-anguilla-in-new-mexico-for-convention