Landfill, housing, election observation topics for IPKO | THE DAILY HERALD


PHILIPSBURG–The dump, housing and the affairs of Venezuela are amongst topics that will be discussed during the Inter-Parliamentary Kingdom Consultations IPKO, which will be held in St. Maarten from today, Monday, January 7 to Friday, January 11.

Other topics to be discussed include: the Kingdom Charter – current relations within the Kingdom as well as bottlenecks and proposals for improvement; the draft Kingdom Law Dispute Regulation; recent developments per country; election observation, and state of affairs consensus Kingdom laws.

Delegations from the Parliaments of the Netherlands, Aruba, Curaçao and St. Maarten will be meeting at the Simpson Bay Resort and Marina for the sessions. The programme also includes a work visit to monuments in Mary’s Fancy. The delegations will also get a view of the landfill in Philipsburg. The Inter-Parliamentary consultations will wrap up on Friday, January 11, with the signing of an agreement list and a joint press conference of the four delegations.

Prior to the start of the consultations, the St. Maarten delegation will be participating in the tripartite meeting along with delegations from the sister islands of Aruba and Curaçao. Among the topics to be discussed are the Constitutional Court; draft Kingdom law dispute regulation; current relations within the Kingdom, bottlenecks and proposals for improvement; situation in Venezuela; collaboration immigration service of St. Maarten with the Royal Netherlands Marechaussees and handling immigration in general via ferry; collaboration in the field of education more specifically the Caribbean Secondary Education Certificate, and cooperation in the field of healthcare. The goal of the meeting is to prepare for the Inter-Parliamentary Kingdom Consultations as well as discuss topics of mutual interest; it was stated in a press release on Sunday.

The St. Maarten delegation which will be participating in the IPKO and Tripartite meetings will consist of Chairperson of Parliament and delegation leader Member of Parliament (MP) Sarah Wescot-Williams, Chairman of the Committee of Kingdom Affairs and Interparliamentary Relations MP Theo Heyliger and MPs Claude Peterson (St. Maarten Christian Party); Silveria Jacobs (National Alliance) and Rolando Brison (United St. Maarten party).

The delegation will also include Acting Secretary General Ann Groen-Gumbs and Second Acting Secretary General Garrick Richardson.

Attendance to the IPKO is strictly upon invitation. Other MPs from St. Maarten have been invited to be present as observers.

The IPKO sessions will be carried live on St. Maarten Cable TV Channel 115, 107.9fm,, and Parliament’s Facebook page: Parliament of Sint Maarten.

Source: The Daily Herald