Leona new prime minister, ministers take oath Mon.

HARBOUR VIEW–Former Member of Parliament Leona Marlin-Romeo will serve as the country’s new Prime Minister. She and the other members of the Council of Ministers are to be sworn-in by Governor Eugene Holiday on Monday at 10:00am at the Governor’s Cabinet.

  Former MP Cornelius De Weever will serve as Minister of Justice. He will also be responsible for the portfolio of the Tourism, Economic Affairs, Transport and Telecommunication, pending the appointment of a new minister. 

  Former Island Councilman Michael Ferrier will be Minister of Finance. 

180515-ENNIA_ENG_Website-banner-SXM-Talks-WONEN-468x60px (1)

  Long-time  civil servant Jorien Wuite is to be the new Minister of Education, Culture, Youth and Sports. 

  Civil servant Miklos Gitterson will serve as Minister of Public Housing, Spatial Planning, Environment and Infrastructure. 

  Minister Emil Lee will retain his position as Minister of Public Health, Social Development and Labour as will Hasani Ellis become Minister Plenipotentiary in The Hague after serving as the deputy.

  This interim cabinet will take St. Maarten into the February 26 snap parliamentary elections. Of the seven ministers, all except Ferrier and Giterson are candidates on the United Democrats slate for the upcoming poll.

  The final report on the formation of the new cabinet was delivered to the Governor by formateur MP Sarah Wescot-Williams today, Friday. 

  The new interim government is supported by a majority in Parliament comprised the United People’s (UP) Party, the Democratic Party (DP) and independent MP Chanel Brownbill. 

  According to the Governor the new government consists of ministers who are committed to the promotion of the wellbeing of Sint Maarten, who will amongst others give priority to concluding the development of a recovery plan,  to the agreement with the Netherlands on the financing of the recovery plan, to revisiting the budget for 2018, to developing a plan to strengthen security, to executing the agreement with the Netherlands on border control, to implementing the law on the integrity chamber in accordance with the protocol with the Netherlands, to the execution of the elections and to initiate electoral reform. 

  Candidates for the various portfolios have been vetted based on the pertinent regulations regulating the pre-screening of candidates before nomination (National Decree Appointment procedure candidate Ministers and candidate Minister Plenipotentiary, May 22, 2013, No. LB-13/0442).

  After the swearing in ceremony, the Governor and the newly appointed Ministers will have the constituting meeting at the Government Administration Building.

Source: The Daily Herald https://www.thedailyherald.sx/islands/72687-leona-new-prime-minister-ministers-take-oath-mon