Minister releases names of STA Supervisory Council members

PHILIPSBURG–Minister of Tourism, Economic Affairs, Transport and Telecommunication (TEATT) Ingrid Arrindell released yesterday the names of the Supervisory Council members of the recently established St. Maarten Tourism Authority (STA).

The members of the Supervisory Council are Chairman Keith Graham representing the St. Maarten Hospitality and Trade Association (SHTA), Jim Rosen representing the St. Maarten Timeshare Association (SMTA), Suzy Kartokromo representing Princess Juliana International Airport SXM and Roger Lawrence representing Port St. Maarten.

The purpose of the STA is to assist temporarily in carrying out the tourism policy of the Government of St. Maarten as a tourist destination; to support the growth of St. Maarten’s land- and sea-based tourism by providing the public and private sectors with focused, sustainable and productive marketing; and the enhancement of the visitor experience.

The STA also will assist, guide and direct all matters related to tourism, whether on initiative from the public sector or the private sector. The STA Foundation will execute these tasks until Government has incorporated the STA in the form of a so-called independently governed body (“Zelfstandig Bestuursorgaan” ZBO), which immediately on its incorporation will be solely responsible for and solely authorised to execute these tasks.

The STA will have a Supervisory Council consisting of five members whose appointment will be made by Port St. Maarten, SXM Airport, SHTA, SMTA plus one member to be appointed by the Minister.

The Council is entrusted with supervision over the policy and management of the Foundation, and its general course of affairs. There also will be an Advisory Committee, which shall have the sole task of assisting the Supervisory Council at its request with advice on all matters related to the execution of its tasks.
Source: Daily Herald
Minister releases names of STA Supervisory Council members