Ministers swearing-in slated for this Monday

PHILIPSBURG–It appears the country will get a new Council of Ministers before Christmas and seven days before three months are clocked in since the September 26 Parliamentary Election. The swearing-in of the incoming Ministers by Governor Eugene Holiday is tentatively set for Monday.

Returning to the Council with the support of the red, white and blue coalition of the Democratic Party (DP), National Alliance (NA) and United St. Maarten Party (US Party) are incumbent Prime Minister William Marlin, Ministers Silveria Jacobs (Education, Culture, Youth and Sports) and Richard Gibson Sr. (Finance) of NA, and Emil Lee (Public Health, Social Development and Labour) of DP.
New Ministers are expected to be current Member of Parliament (MP) Christophe Emmanuel (NA), former Health and Labour Minister Rafael “Rafi” Boasman (US Party) and Cecil Nicholas, board president of the US Party.
Emmanuel is slated to head the Ministry of Public Housing, Spatial Planning, Environment and Infrastructure VROMI, Boasman Ministry of Justice and Nicholas the Ministry of Tourism, Economic Affairs, Transportation and Telecommunication TEATT.
Not returning to the Council of Ministers are current VROMI Minister Angel Meyers, TEATT Minister Ingrid Arrindell and Justice Minister Edson Kirindongo.
With the new Cabinet, the Parliamentary seats of Emmanuel and Lee will become available for the next highest vote-getters on their party’s slate.

Source: The Daily Herald