Names candidate ministers known

WILLEMSTAD–The names proposed for the interim cabinet being formed in Curaçao are already known.

  The “new majority” in Parliament has presented its candidates to become ministers. They will go through a thorough background check and screening before they can take the oath of office.

  This process could take a while and some experts say even six weeks. This would mean that the transitional MFK-led government will be sworn in right before the early elections on April 28.

  The candidates are: Charles Cooper (Prime Minister), Gilmar “Pik” Pisas (Minister of Justice), Rudsel Martha (Minister Plenipotentiary in The Hague), Norberto Ribeiro (Minister of Administration, Planning and Service), Errol Goeloe (Minister of Economic Development), Jaime Cordoba (Minister of Social Development, Labour and Wellbeing), Ruthmilda Larmonie-Cecilia (Minister of Traffic, Transport and Spatial Planning), Giseline Girigoria (Minister of Health, Environment and Nature), Maureena Esprit (Minister of Education, Science, Culture and Sports) and Lourdes Alberto (Minister of Finance).

  The interim cabinet backed by the MFK/KdnT/PS/MP/Braam/Dannawi coalition is to organise the snap elections and run the country until the next government takes over following the vote.

Source: The Daily Herald