New association for retired police officers elects board | THE DAILY HERALD

The board of St. Maarten Police Force Pensioners and Retirees Association.

PHILIPSBURG–There is now a permanent board for recently-formed St. Maarten Police Force Pensioners and Retirees Association following an election at Bute Hotel on Thursday.

  The association is the brainchild of a group of retired police officers who came together last year to turn their idea into reality.

  “Our goal is to keep in touch with one another and assist each other in whatever way possible. … This association will bring together the former workers of the Police Force and will look out for their and their families’ needs,” the association said in a press release on Sunday.

  A temporary board had been installed to finalise the association’s statutes, but the first election to select a permanent board took place on Thursday. Right after the election, the association held a general meeting to ratify the election results.

  Eddy Jacobs was voted as the association’s chairperson. Alongside him are Johan Leonard (vice chairperson), Elgin Schotborg (treasurer), Geronimo Juliet (vice treasurer), Isterida Hasham (secretary), Amparo Sabina (vice secretary), and Norwin Villarreal (commissioner).

  During this meeting, the existing members also gave their permission for the board to open membership to other Justice Ministry retirees. 

  Justice Ministry retirees who would like to join the fledgling St. Maarten Police Force Pensioners and Retirees Association are requested to contact any of the board members for more information.

Source: The Daily Herald