New citizens | THE DAILY HERALD


St. Eustatius is now home of six new Dutch citizens. Stanlly Capellan-Guzman, Debora Norville-Hinckson, Julien Hinckson, Jaasiel Hinckson, Anthony Conrad and Diana van Dams took the oath of allegiance to the King of the Netherlands on Thursday at a naturalization ceremony attended by Government Commissioner Marcolino “Mike” Franco, Deputy Commissioner Mervyn Stegers, acting Island Secretary Malvern Dijkshoorn-Lopes, Governor’s Cabinet policy officer Winston Fleming and family and friends of the new citizens.

Franco congratulated the new citizens. Fleming advised them to wait two weeks before going to the Civil Registry to request passports and not to wait a year or they may need to do the process over again. The new citizens received a St. Eustatius coat of arms and flag.

Source: The Daily Herald