New Curaçao MPs sworn in | THE DAILY HERALD

The incoming 21 elected representatives pose after taking their oath of office.

WILLEMSTAD–Curaçao’s incoming Members of Parliament (MPs) were sworn in on Tuesday morning by Governor Lucille George-Wout.


  Afterward, the recently elected representatives presented themselves to the local press on the square of government seat Fort Amsterdam. Coronavirus COVID-19-related measures were generally well observed by the politicians and media workers.

  The parliamentarians then went to the Petroleum Workers Federation of Curaçao (PWFC) building on Schottegatweg West, where a first meeting in the new setting was held at 10:00am. They chose Charetti America-Francisca (MFK) as President and Ruthmilda Larmonie-Cecilia (PNP) as Vice President.


Past Parliament President Ana-Maria Pauletta (PAR) passes the gavel on to her successor Charetti America-Francisca (MFK).

Outgoing Prime Minister Eugene Rhuggenaath was not sworn in as a Member of Parliament on Tuesday. In a press release, his party PAR announced that its pollical leader will not claim his seat.

  As a result, all candidates on the March 19 election list move up one place and Steven Croes, current caretaker Minister of Education, Science, Culture and Sport is next in line to enter the legislature.

  According to the statement issued, PAR’s rejuvenation was one of Rhuggenaath's spearheads. “The party board must continue the transformation and rejuvenation process to form future leaders for the next elections in 2025,” Rhuggenaath had said in submitting the candidate list.

  “Based on the latest election results and evaluation, Rhuggenaath feels called on to take responsibility in the rejuvenation process,” added the release.

  He will still guide and support the PAR faction in Parliament, with the party saying it wants to conduct a constructive opposition during these difficult times. Earlier, they had unsuccessfully asked outgoing Minister of Traffic, Transport and Spatial Planning VVRP and Health, Environment and Nature GMN Zita Jesus-Leito to renounce her seat and make way for a younger generation of politicians.

Source: The Daily Herald