New Judges appointed at Joint Court of Justice | THE DAILY HERALD

THE HAGUE–M. Stoffers and J.J. Verhoeven will become new members of the Joint Court of Justice of Aruba, Curaçao, St. Maarten and Bonaire, St. Eustatius and Saba. At the same time, P. Borsje-Senders will become a new member of the Court’s Military Chamber. The Kingdom Council of Ministers has decided to nominate these three judges for appointment on the proposal of Minister for Legal Protection Sander Dekker and Minister of Defence Ank Bijleveld, also on behalf of their colleagues in Aruba, Curaçao and St. Maarten.

Stoffers, who was born in 1966, will become a judge in administrative cases at the Court of First Instance as of October 1, 2018. She is currently a member of the Council for Criminal Justice and Youth Protection and also Chairperson of the Amsterdam Police Complaints Committee.

Verhoeven (1965) will become a judge in civil case law at the Court of First Instance starting January 14, 2019. He is currently counsellor in trade law at the Court of Appeals in Den Bosch. In addition, he is a member of the National Visitation Committee for the Judiciary 2018.

Borsje-Senders (1970) will be the successor of R.M.H. Clermont as a member of the Military Chamber of the Court of First Instance. Clermont returned to the Netherlands mid-2018. Borsje-Senders is currently Head of Financial Affairs at the Directorate of Personnel and Operations at the Naval Forces Command.

On the proposal of Minister of Justice and Security Ferd Grapperhaus, Th.P.L. Bot was reappointed as a member of the Law Enforcement Council, charged with the general inspection of the quality, effectiveness and management of the judicial organisations in Curaçao, St. Maarten, Bonaire, Statia and Saba. Council members can be appointed for a maximum of four years and be reappointed once. Bot’s reappointment will take effect on October 10, 2018.

Source: The Daily Herald