New judges for St. Maarten | THE DAILY HERALD

THE HAGUE–Three new judges were appointed for St. Maarten on Friday, in addition to a new court vice-president in St. Maarten.

The Kingdom Council of Ministers, based on a proposal by Dutch Minister for Legal Protection Sander Dekker, Aruba Justice Minister Andin Bikker, Curaçao Justice Minister Quincy Girigorie and St. Maarten Justice Minister Cornelius de Weever, approved the appointment of six new judges, three of whom are for St. Maarten.

The appointees for St. Maarten are J.M. Ghrib, as judge of instruction in combined administrative and civil jurisdiction per May 15; C.T.M. Luijks, as judge in the civil jurisdiction per August 1; and J. Snitker as judge in the criminal jurisdiction per August 1.

Three other judges – H.G. Eskes, W.J. Geurts-de Veld and C.E.M. Nooteboom – were appointed for Curaçao.

A.J.J. van Rijen was appointed as vice-president Joint Court of Justice, St. Maarten section per August 1.

A.J. Martijn was appointed as member of the Joint Court of Justice in Curaçao, also per August 1.

Source: The Daily Herald