New majority chooses chair, passes motions

New Parliament President Gilmar “Pik” Pisas (MFK)

WILLEMSTAD–The so-called Group of Eleven in Curaçao’s Parliament adopted motions of no-confidence against seven ministers of the caretaker Cabinet headed by Prime Minister Hensley Koeiman (MAN). They also replaced President of Parliament Giselle McWilliam (MAN) and Marilyn Alcala-Walle (PAR) with respectively Gilmar “Pik” Pisas (MFK) and Norberto Ribeiro (KdNT).

  The “new majority” formed by the fractions of MFK, KdNT, PS and MP plus independent (former PAR) parliamentarian Eduard Braam elected both Pisas and Ribeiro by 11 votes to nine.

  They subsequently passed motions against all ministers except those of PS, which had abandoned its coalition with MAN, PAR and PNP to bring down the current government. The latter resigned after losing majority support in the legislature, but also moved to dissolve Parliament and call early elections on April 28.

  The Group of Eleven notified Governor Lucille-George Wout that they want to appoint PS-minister Ruthmilda Larmonie-Cecilia as “formateur” of a new government that enjoys majority backing in Parliament. This interim cabinet is to take over until a new government is formed after the elections.

  However, there are indications that once the interim cabinet is installed they will seek to postpone the elections, as did the William Marlin Cabinet I in St. Maarten. In any case MFK-leader Gerrit Schotte said they will reverse the project of NAf 5.6 million for a police officer bachelor’s course.


Source: The Daily Herald