No-confidence motions rejected | THE DAILY HERALD

PHILIPSBURG—Two motions of no-confidence in Parliament submitted by the opposition against Prime Minister Leona Rome-Marlin (General Affairs) and Minister of Tourism, Economic Affairs, Transport and Telecommunication (TEATT) Stuart Johnson were rejected on Monday close to noon.

  In both cases the votes tied at seven, with 14 of the members present due to the detention of United Democrats (UD) leader Theo Heyliger. This means the motions are off the table and would have to be resubmitted to be handled again in the future.

  During Monday’s continued meeting the two cabinet members and CEO Brian Mingo answered questions posed in the second round  of the plenary session on the financing and related conditions agreed to by government for the rebuilding of Princess Juliana International (PJIA), before the motions were decided on. The factions of National Alliance (NA) and United St. Maarten Party (US party) voted for, while those of coalition partners UD and St. Maarten Christian Party (SMPC) voted against.



Source: The Daily Herald