Nominations now open for Parliament Award

PHILIPSBURG–Parliament invites the public to send in nominations for the Annual President of Parliament Award. Deadline for submissions is August 15. Application forms are available via under the “documents” tab.

  The award honours young St. Maarteners who are an example to the youth by contributing positively to community and country. Nominations can be submitted by any residents.

  Nominees must have Dutch nationality or have been legally residing in St. Maarten for 10 or more years consecutively, and have been registered in the Civil Registry for that period of time. He or she must be age 15 to 24 and must have made a worthwhile contribution to the development of the community and the country.

  The contributions/achievements of the nominees must have taken place within the last three years and must have been made while acting as a private citizen, not as an appointed or elected government official. Nominee must also have demonstrated capacity for leadership and ability to motivate. An award committee is established each year consisting of three Members of Parliament who will review nomination documents prior to a selection meeting. At the latter meeting, Parliament Chairwoman will select the awardee based on the recommendations of the committee. The awardee will be announced at the reception ceremony for the Opening of the 2017-2018 Parliamentary Year in September.

  Nominations should be submitted to Parliament of St. Maarten, Attention Annual President of Parliament Award Committee, Wilhelminastraat 1, Philipsburg or via e-mail

Source: The Daily Herald