Omeus wins bus drivers election

PHILIPSBURG–Dutch St. Maarten United Bus Drivers Association has a new president, treasurer and secretary. Some 84 members headed to the polls at Philipsburg Jubilee Library on Sunday from 2:00 to 5:00pm. Claude Omeus came out victorious in the elections.

Samuel Richardson (Bus 57), Leonard Hughes (Bus 11) and Claude Omeus (Bus 12) had postulated themselves for the position of President. Jean Daniel was the candidate for Secretary. Dorane Gilnes and Charles Wilfred were candidates for the position of Treasurer.
“I will be a different president and I promise all the drivers that I will work hard for them. The first problem my board will tackle is getting insurance for all of our members. We need insurance and it is important for us to get that. I will also deal with the French-side issues; drivers are being picked who can drive over there. This practice should stop. We all have to make a living,” said an optimistic Omeus to reporters after receiving the news.

He plans to select his own board because, according to the bylaws of the organisation, the president, once elected independently, can choose persons to fill the other position(s) vacant in the association.
Former President Alexis Williams congratulated Omeus and wished him all the best during his two-year term.

Bus drivers with valid IDs and bus permits were allowed to vote in the election. Those who were not in possession of a permit were not allowed to vote.
There were 300 bus drivers eligible to vote in the elections. Richardson received 18 votes, Hughes three votes and Omeus won with 62 votes.
Wilfrid had 19 votes and Gilnes won 40 votes to become Treasurer.
Daniel received 44 votes and is the new Secretary.

“I wanted more drivers to come out and cast their votes, but because they have issues with the association they did not come, but I have a plan to get everybody together and the work starts now.” said new President Omeus on Sunday afternoon.

Source: The Daily Herald Omeus wins bus drivers election