Rotary Club Mid Isle installs new board | THE DAILY HERALD

From left: Rotarians Richard Panneflek, Wayne Wilkie, Sonia Swanston-Meade, Louis Wever, Jon Hart, David Antrobus, Tony Da Cunha, Denise Antrobus, Assistant District Governor Marcellia Henry, Secretary Grace Linger, and President Aernout Kraaijeveld.

PHILIPSBURG–Aernout Kraaijeveld has taken over the reins of Rotary Club of St. Maarten-Mid Isle from Denise Antrobus.

The change of board ceremony was held at Emilio’s Restaurant on July 13. Assistant District Governor Marcellia Henry along with the presidents and secretaries of other local Rotary Clubs were present for the change of board event as well.

Outgoing President Denise Antrobus said it was pleasing to look back at the club’s various projects and achievements last year.

“Mid Isle had certainly shown their ‘Inspiration’ and their ‘love for Rotary’ during the Rotary Year 2018-2019 and Mid Isle definitely complied with Rotary’s new vision statement: ‘Together, we see a world where people unite and take action to create lasting change – across the globe, in our communities, and in ourselves,’” she said.

One of Antrobus’ objectives last year was “Mental Health Awareness.” Mid Isle was able to replace the signage at Mental Health Foundation (MHF) and help fund four videos to bring mental health awareness to the community. The club also provided four sewing machines to Faraja Day Care Centre and helped to refurbish the kitchen.

In its continued focus on youth, Mid Isle chartered the Charlotte Brookson Academy Interact Club, a school-based Rotary-sponsored club for 12- to 18-year-old students. Mid Isle also sponsored the Player Development Early Act Club. Since Hurricane Irma, this community-based Rotary-sponsored club for 5- to 13-year-old children continues to help in the community.

Mid Isle qualified for all available district awards at the District conference in Jamaica this year. It received the first-place award in District 7020 for “Rotary has Heart, Rise Against Hunger”. In the Zone 34 video contest “People of Action” the club placed second in the popular vote.

Antrobus presented tokens of appreciation to her outgoing board Vice-President Anjali Manek, Secretary Aernout Kraaijeveld, Treasurer Tony Da Cunha, Foundation chair David Antrobus, Young Generations chair Jon Hart, and Membership chair Louis Wever.

Rotarians with 100 per cent attendance for the year were presented with special pins. The much-anticipated Rotarian of the Year award went to Foundation Chair David Antrobus. MHF Director Eileen Healy received a Paul Harris Fellowship.

Kraaijeveld gave an overview of the bigger projects and focuses for the upcoming Rotary year, which include the annual Spelling Bee and the Ramesh Manek Walk-a-thon to “End Polio Now”.

He went on to tell attendees that new District Governor Delma Maduro from Tortola would like all the clubs in the district to focus on diabetes, which is widespread throughout the Caribbean. Mid Isle has been assisting the Diabetes Foundation of St. Maarten in various ways, including sponsoring a podiatry unit that will go a long way to help the safe treatment of diabetic patients in St. Maarten.

“District Governor Maduro has asked our district to support HANWASH [Haiti National Clean Water, Sanitation and Hygiene Strategy – Ed.] – a project to provide Haiti with clean drinking water. Eighty per cent of the population in Haiti do not have direct access to a clean water source,” said Kraaijeveld.

Antrobus placed the presidential collar around Kraaijeveld’s neck while Henry pinned him and his board.

The incoming board members for year 2019-2020 are Kraaijeveld (President), Denise Antrobus (Vice President, Immediate Past President and Public Image chair), Grace Linger (Secretary and Special Project chair), Tony Da Cunha (Treasurer), David Antrobus (Foundation chair), Louis Wever (Sergeant-at-Arms, District Governor Nominee), Wayne Wilkie (Membership chair), Sonia Swanston-Meade (Disaster chair), Jon Hart (Young Generations chair) and Richard Panneflek (Fundraising chair).

Source: The Daily Herald