Screening of new Ministers ongoing

PHILIPSBURG–The screening of what is tagged to be the William Marlin Cabinet is still ongoing.
It is understood that National Alliance (NA) leader Member of Parliament (MP) Marlin is busy with collecting the screening results for the seven-member cabinet that will represent the Coalition of Eight in the executive branch of government.
Marlin, in his role as Formateur, has to report to Governor Eugene Holiday soon on the composition of the cabinet.
Said to be joining Marlin in the cabinet are MP Silveria Jacobs as Minister of Education, Youth, Culture and Sports.
Once both Marlin and Jacobs pass the screening they will have up to three months to combine their functions as MPs and Ministers. On their resignation from Parliament, their seats will be taken up by former MP Rodolphe Samuel and Hyacinth Richardson, who were the next highest vote-getters on NA’s 2014 Parliamentary Elections slate.
Also tipped as Minister candidates are attorney Richard Gibson Sr. for Finance Ministry, civil servant Angel Meyers for Ministry of Public Housing, Spatial Planning, Environment and Infrastructure VROMI, Glen Daniels for Justice Ministry, Ingrid Arrindell for Ministry of Tourism, Economic Affairs, Transport and Telecommunications (TEATT) and Emil Lee for Ministry of Public Health, Social Development and Labour.
Henrietta Doran-York is expected to head to The Hague as Minister Plenipotentiary. She has served as Deputy Minister Plenipotentiary in the past.
The Coalition of Eight comprises NA, Democratic Party (DP), United St. Maarten Party (USP) and independent MPs Silvio Matser and Maurice Lake. The Coalition was formed on September 30 when Matser, Lake and MP Frans Richardson withdrew their support from the now-crumbled United People’s (UP) party-led coalition.

Source: The Daily Herald Screening of new Ministers ongoing