State of emergency extended to French Overseas Territories

MARIGOT–French Minister of Overseas Territories George Pau-Langevin announced Tuesday the state of emergency declared by President François Hollande on November 14 regarding the terror threat affecting principally mainland France, has been extended to Guadeloupe, French Guiana, Martinique, Mayotte, Reunion Island, and St. Martin and St. Barths.

A release sent out by the Ministry said the decision is justified by the necessity to reinforce security in all territories during the state of emergency that will be extended to three months instead of the original 12 days.

The emergency measure will give civil authorities extra powers (Préfets and Interior Minister) to guarantee public security. The measures give law enforcement power to: randomly stop the circulation of persons and install zones of protection and security; to detain suspicious persons and their possessions; to ban meetings or demonstrations; to order searches in houses day or night; to give a compulsory order of residence to any persons whose behaviour or activity is deemed dangerous for security and public order; and lastly to order the submission of weapons and ammunition.

With regard to the geographical specifics of Collectivités located in the Pacific and the Collectivité of Saint-Pierre et Miquelon, the state of vigilance code named “Vigipirate” will be reinforced.

Elsewhere, reinforcement of resources destined for Police, Gendarmerie, Customs and the Justice System is applicable equally to all overseas territories.

Source: The Daily Herald State of emergency extended to French Overseas Territories