UPDATE: Koeiman cabinet falls on Curaçao

WILLEMSTAD–The Government of Curaçao can no longer count on the backing of a majority in Parliament. Only seven weeks into its term, the cabinet headed by Prime Minister Hensley Koeiman (MAN) has fallen.

The “Pueblo Soberano” (PS) fraction in a letter to Governor Lucille George-Wout said that they no longer support the current government. The letter also stated that an agreement had meanwhile been reached on forming a new cabinet with various fractions that together represent a majority of legislators.

An accompanying document called “agreement for a different government 2017-2020” was signed by the fractions of MFK (four seats), “Korsou di Nos Tur” (KdNT) (three seats), PS (two) and “Movementu Progresivo” (one), plus independent (former PAR) Parliamentarian Eduard Braam, for a minimal majority of 11 in the 21-seat Parliament.

PS’ now ex-coalition partners MAN (four seats), PAR (three) and PNP (two) still have a combined nine seats and were trying to form a new government of their own with one-seat “Un Kòrsou Hustu” of Omayra Leeflang, MP of Marylin Moses and Braam.

However, the latter two had formed a bloc and chose to work with MFK, KdNT and PS instead.

Source: The Daily Herald https://www.thedailyherald.sx/islands/63577-update-koeiman-cabinet-falls-on-curacao