Voting cards can be picked up in districts from Feb. 5 to 9

PHILIPSBURG–The Department of Civil Registry (Census office) will be distributing voting cards at four locations for the February 26, snap parliamentary elections: the Dutch Quarter Help Desk, in St. Peters at the Rupert I. Maynard Youth Community Centre, the Public Service Center (PSC) in Simpson Bay and at the former Census Office building in Philipsburg. The latter is closed until further notice due to the landfill fire.

  Once persons are registered at the Civil Registry Department and they are eligible voters, their voting cards can be collected at one of the distribution locations from February 5, to February 9, from 9:00am to 5:00pm.

  Voters are asked to note that their district is connected to the address in which they are registered under at the Civil Registry Department.

  The voting districts in the Dutch Quarter area are the Sister Marie Laurence School (district 4), Dutch Quarter Community Centre (district 5), Belvedere Community Center (district 14) and the Community Help Desk in Dutch Quarter where the former Dr. Bryson Clinic was located (district 17 – formerly Justice Academy). For the Dutch Quarter area the district pick up for voting cards is at the Dutch Quarter Help Desk.

  The voting districts for St. Peters/Milton Peters College area are the Milton Peters College (district 6), Methodist Agogic Center (district 16), Sint Maarten Academy (district 8) and the Rupert I. Maynard Youth Community Center (district 7). The voter card pick-up is at the Rupert Maynard Community Centre in St. Peters.

  The voting districts in the Cole Bay area are the Seventh Day Adventist School (district 18), Simpson Bay Sport Community Center (district 13), Leonald Conner School (district 12) and the Charles Leopold Bell School (district 11). The location for pick-up of the voting cards is the Public Service Center (PSC) in Simpson Bay (Fish Market).

  Persons voting in the following districts: John Larmonie Center (district 1), Sundial School (district 2), St. Maarten Senior Citizen Recreational Centre (district 3), Melford Hazel Sport and Recreational Centre (district 15), Bute Hotel (district 9 – previously Raoul Illidge Sports Complex) and the National Institute for Professional Advancement (NIPA) (district 10 – previously Celebration Palace), would be able to pick up their voting cards at the Old Census office building, at Soualiga Road #6, once the location reopens. The location in Philipsburg is closed until further notice due to the adverse conditions caused by the smoke emanating from the landfill fire.

  For previous parliamentary elections, voting cards were only distributed via Postal Services St. Maarten (PSS). However, given the damages that PSS sustained due to the passing of hurricanes Irma and Maria, it is not possible for it to accommodate the distribution of such a high volume of voting cards at this moment, hence the decision to distribute in the various districts.

  Voting cards not collected by February 9, will be distributed the subsequent week by PSS. In the event that an eligible voter has not received his/her voting card eight days prior to the date of election (February 26), then he/she may approach the Civil Registry Department with a request for their voting card, with proper identification. Voters are encouraged as much as possible to make use of the option to collect their voting card at the substations. Proper identification is required. Additional information can be obtained by calling the Department of Civil Registry (Census) at tel 542-0652, 542-6085 or 542-9344.

Source: The Daily Herald