5 candidates did not meet deadline

Philipsburg — At the end of the deadline, Monday, March 26, 2018, at 18:00 hours, eighty-eight (88) of the ninety-three (93) political candidates, who contested the recently held parliamentary elections, have formally submitted their donation registration.

Two (2) candidates have not finalized the registration online nor have they provided the Electoral Council with any information regarding their non-compliance. These candidates are:

Two other candidates concluded the registration online with no possibility to make any more adjustments. However, they failed to submit the signed register of donations to the Electoral Council as is required by law. These candidates are:

These four candidates can expect a letter from the Electoral Council with the request to submit their donation registration without further delay. Further failure to comply will result in an order under penalty.

One candidate, Rolando Brison (US Party), requested an extension to submit the donation registration due to unexpected travels.

Despite repeated requests to the parties to assist their candidates with the registration of donations and ensure that they submit it on time, a great number of candidates still showed up on the last day empty-handed and required assistance from the Electoral Council with the completion and printing of their registration. While it is not the responsibility of the Electoral Council to complete the candidates’ donation registrations, the candidates were nonetheless assisted by the Electoral Council.

Source: StMaartenNews http://stmaartennews.com/elections/5-candidates-not-meet-deadline/