New MPs take oath of office

WILLEMSTAD–Seven new Members of Parliament (MPs) were finally sworn in by Curaçao Governor Lucille George-Wout at Fort Amsterdam.

After a tumultuous start of the day, Parliament finally approved the credentials of these MAN/PAR/PNP/PS coalition members despite heavy criticism from the opposition, especially MFK-leader Gerrit Schotte and KdNT-leader Amparo dos Santos.

This means that the Parliament of Curaçao once again has 21 members. According to Schotte these MPs should not have been sworn in because there was no quorum in Parliament to approve their credentials and everything that took place during the meeting was illegal.

Source: The Daily Herald